Photo Access and Privacy

Aura requires access to your photo library for the app to function and choose photos for your Aura frame. Your photos are always stored securely on your device, on Aura’s cloud servers, and on your Aura frame. They are never shared with any third parties, or with other Aura users without your permission.

Granting Photo Access

You’ll be asked to grant photo access at the time that you create an account in the Aura app for iOS and Android. Photo access is required for Aura to display your photos within the Aura app, and to choose which ones you’d like to send to your frame. If you deny photo access you will not be able to move forward with setup.

Security & Privacy

Aura uploads and stores your photos in a secure cloud database, powered by AWS.

Aura uses the AES-256 advanced encryption standard, which is the industry standard. No one else ever has access to the photos in your Aura account except you. Other frame members who are connected to your frame will see the photos you’ve added to that frame, and never photos that you have not. Your photos will also be stored locally on your frame, but your frame will sync with our database regularly to ensure it has all of the right photos and requires an active internet connection to function properly.

For more information about how Aura uses your data and the precautions we take to ensure its safety, please see our Privacy Policy for a complete overview.

Note: If you would like to delete your Aura account, please email help@auraframes.com.

Need help or have a specific question not answered here? Email help@auraframes.com or call (646) 630-7237. For the quickest response time, please submit a request and an Aura expert will be in touch.

Was this article helpful?

Let us know how we can do better:

Want to see more?

View all articles